Chicken corn soup in Not Another Romeo

Not another Romeo

Previously

Waseem joins the fishing trip and Zubaida lets on why she moved back

Chapter 13:

Tazkia P.O.V:

Sunday morning….

Me: Hmm I feel like making soup….now where did mom leave that recipe book?

After searching for what felt like hours (only must have been 5 minutes), I finally decided to give up and ask Sara, our domestic worker, she more like family though, she been with us since I was a babe.

Me: Aunty Sara! I can’t find mom quick and easy recipe book?

Aunty Sara first looks at me in shock from the table where she cleaning this morning dishes, then she burst out laughing

Aunty Sara: My Tazkia want to cook, what happen, did you fail something again, it can’t be because our father day? That not for weeks!

Blushing bright red, I have occasionally cook to get out of trouble, but I do genuinely love the kitchen only to stuff my face with delicious food ofcouse….

Me: Aunty Sara! That a secret! And no I just have a sick friend who in need of some special chicken corn soup, and don’t you get any ideas, it just Waseem, the big baby….

After finding the book, Sara help me make the soup, Let just say I could burn water if I didn’t have any supervision in the kitchen….

Me: Hmmm smell divine! Waseem is one lucky dumbass! Can’t believe he got sick, he should know better…..

And now with this as my leverage, I can finally find out what bug him so much he had to cut our Skype call…he better have a good excuse ready!

I quickly message Aliyah to let her know where I was going in case she come over and didn’t find me.

Arriving outside Waseem house, the sights still give me goose bumps, it really huge….It like palace you only see in Movies…

Waseem is the only son of one of the wealthiest folks in this part of town, every Eid, they host over 50 or more people to share in their meals.

I just love his mother, although she so rich, she really down to earth, and has the most softest heart ever, refuses to let me go without me having at least one meal before going home, and Since Waseem father is a chef, who can resist the most heavenly chicken pasta he make! It too die for!

The guards know me so well, they let me in without having to sign in anymore…

Me: Hey Walter how the kids? I hear Sofia got a scholarship! Must be so proud…

Walter: Hello Miss Tazkia, oh yes very, it all thanks to boss! He is very generous.

Me: I am sure you daughter will make good use of it

After knocking for a few minutes, the door is open by the smiling face of Waso Mom

Waso Mom: Slmz Tazkia! What a lovely surprise! Come in

Me: Wslmz Aunty Khadija, I just brought some soup for the sick patient, where is he?

Aunty Khadija: Oh dear, didn’t he tell you, he felt all the sudden better and went on the fishing trip with your brother and friends….but JazakaAllah so much, I will be sure to give him the soup, he should be back later tonight, you saved me from making a late night supper for him, but please stay and have a cuppa tea with me!

I couldn’t say no, and we got talking about my university choices, she is so cool and totally understand why I wanted to study law, we were so deep in discussion I didn’t realize the time.

Me: Oh shoot, it gotten so late….I should get going, JazakaAllah for the chat and tea Aunty Khadija!

Aunty Khadija: Aw can’t I convince you to stay for supper?

Me: Awww JazakaAllah I wish I could but my mom would kill me! Another time Insha’Allah

Arriving home, just in time to see Nadeem drop off Abu

Abu: Hey what are you doing out till so late?

Me: Haha it only 7 doofus, plus I was just over at Waseem…Seem he decided to join you guys after all….

Nadeem: Yeah couldn’t help be our hero (in sarcastic tone)

Me: Uhm okay, soo-

Abu: Just go inside Tazkia….

Geez what got his pants in a twist….

Me: Slmz everyone!

Dad: Tazkia! Where were you?! And what this about chicken corn soup?

Me: Ag Aunty Sara! (I could hear her giggle from the kitchen) Sorry daddy, I was just being a good friend, this idiot( pinching Waseem who came with Abu) told me he was sick yesterday so I made soup to take for him, and You know How Aunty Khadija get, she won’t let me leave until I ate something (smiling sheepish)

Dad: Waseem did you promise my daughter something or hid something from her? (Eyeing him curiously)

Me: Dad! (Shock face) How- Ag ok I just want him to owe me (tongue emoji)

Both dad and Waseem laugh while I blush a deep red!

Waseem: (laughing) Oh man, I needed that… (Hugs me) thanks for the soup, we talk soon (winks at me) gotta hurry home before my mom send out the police to look for me, Slmz

After leaving, we all sat for supper and hear all about Abu fishing trip…Boys and their sports (rolling eyes emoji)

Author note: ‘

Ha-ha our dear Tazkia! I know for a fact I sometimes do things to gain favours….do you? Share some stories about you, a family member or friend who tried using food as a weapon to get someone to open up?

Love to hear what you guys think so far?

Twitter @ShyPopz

Instagram: MIZSATHAR

Lots of love

Shaaira

P.s: A new blog called Sabeeha 2.0…please check it out and lets other knows www.sabeeha20.wordpress.com

 

 

Leave a comment